Florida is the only state where process-server certification is granted circuit by circuit. Under Fla. Stat. § 48.27 the chief judge of each judicial circuit may maintain an approved list of certified process servers, and that certification authorizes service only on persons found within that circuit — a server certified in the Ninth Judicial Circuit is not thereby certified in the Thirteenth. Section 48.29 sets the floor everywhere: at least 18 years old, a background investigation, a certificate of good conduct, a $5,000 surety bond renewable annually, an examination where the chief judge prescribes one, and an application fee set by the circuit. Everything above that floor — the fee, whether there is a written exam and what score passes, the training hours, the renewal calendar — is set by the circuit's own administrative order, so the requirements below are listed per circuit and sourced to that circuit's order.
First Judicial Circuit of Florida
Counties: Escambia, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Walton
- Approved list
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Application fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Exam
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Bond
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Residency
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Training / CE
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
Second Judicial Circuit of Florida
Counties: Franklin, Gadsden, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Wakulla
- Approved list
- Yes
- Application fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Exam
- Required; written
- Bond
- $5,000 minimum
- Residency
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Training / CE
- Seminar is referenced; exact duration/content not stated on the page.
- Renewal
- For 2026–2027, on or before Friday, February 27, 2026.
Third Judicial Circuit of Florida
Counties: Columbia, Dixie, Hamilton, Lafayette, Madison, Suwannee, Taylor
- Approved list
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Application fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Exam
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Bond
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Residency
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Training / CE
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
Fourth Judicial Circuit of Florida
Counties: Clay, Duval, Nassau
- Approved list
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Application fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Exam
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Bond
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Residency
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Training / CE
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
Fifth Judicial Circuit of Florida
Counties: Citrus, Hernando, Lake, Marion, Sumter
- Approved list
- Yes
- Application fee
- $250 non-refundable; renewal $150
- Renewal fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Exam
- Required
- Bond
- $5,000
- Residency
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Training / CE
- 16-hour training seminar over two days
- Renewal
- Renew before certification expiration; exact annual month not stated on page.
This is the most recent order published by the circuit at the time of review — confirm it is current before relying on it.
Sixth Judicial Circuit of Florida
Counties: Pasco, Pinellas
- Approved list
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Application fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Exam
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Bond
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Residency
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Training / CE
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
Seventh Judicial Circuit of Florida
Counties: Flagler, Putnam, St. Johns, Volusia
- Approved list
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Application fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Exam
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Bond
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Residency
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Training / CE
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
Eighth Judicial Circuit of Florida
Counties: Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Gilchrist, Levy, Union
- Approved list
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Application fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Exam
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Bond
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Residency
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Training / CE
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
Ninth Judicial Circuit of Florida
Counties: Orange, Osceola
- Approved list
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Application fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Exam
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Bond
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Residency
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Training / CE
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
Tenth Judicial Circuit of Florida
Counties: Hardee, Highlands, Polk
- Approved list
- Yes
- Application fee
- $75 non-refundable application fee; $30 criminal-records check, fingerprints, and first-year ID badge fee
- Renewal fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Exam
- Not required
- Bond
- $5,000
- Residency
- Permanent Florida resident
- Training / CE
- Approved process-server education course required
- Renewal
- Identification card renewed annually; $5 renewal fee; certificate valid five years assuming annual renewal; re-application required after five years
- Administrative order
- March 7, 2025
Eleventh Judicial Circuit of Florida
Counties: Miami-Dade
- Approved list
- Yes
- Application fee
- $250 new; $200 recertification
- Renewal fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Exam
- Required
- Bond
- Bonded; amount not stated on the page
- Residency
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Training / CE
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal
- New application/enrollment October–January; recertification November–February.
Twelfth Judicial Circuit of Florida
Counties: DeSoto, Manatee, Sarasota
- Approved list
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Application fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Exam
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Bond
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Residency
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Training / CE
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
Thirteenth Judicial Circuit of Florida
Counties: Hillsborough
- Approved list
- Yes
- Application fee
- $60 renewal fee; new-application fee not stated on page
- Renewal fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Exam
- Required; passing score 75 or higher; Examination administered by Hillsborough Community College; format not stated.
- Bond
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Residency
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Training / CE
- Annual course; offered by Hillsborough Community College, Ybor Campus.
- Renewal
- Annual renewal; specific month/window not stated on page.
Fourteenth Judicial Circuit of Florida
Counties: Bay, Calhoun, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Washington
- Approved list
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Application fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Exam
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Bond
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Residency
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Training / CE
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
Fifteenth Judicial Circuit of Florida
Counties: Palm Beach
- Approved list
- Yes
- Application fee
- $250 new; $200 renewal; $24 FDLE background check separately
- Renewal fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Exam
- Required; Written examination through FAPPS / as part of approved training course.
- Bond
- $5,000
- Residency
- Permanent resident of Florida
- Training / CE
- New: 16-hour approved training; renewal: 4-hour approved continuing education.
- Renewal
- Renewals accepted through October; new applications October 1–November 1 annually.
Sixteenth Judicial Circuit of Florida
Counties: Monroe
- Approved list
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Application fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Exam
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Bond
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Residency
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Training / CE
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
Seventeenth Judicial Circuit of Florida
Counties: Broward
- Approved list
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Application fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Exam
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Bond
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Residency
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Training / CE
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
Eighteenth Judicial Circuit of Florida
Counties: Brevard, Seminole
- Approved list
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Application fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Exam
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Bond
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Residency
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Training / CE
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
This is the most recent order published by the circuit at the time of review — confirm it is current before relying on it.
Nineteenth Judicial Circuit of Florida
Counties: Indian River, Martin, Okeechobee, St. Lucie
- Approved list
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Application fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Exam
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Bond
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Residency
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Training / CE
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
Twentieth Judicial Circuit of Florida
Counties: Charlotte, Collier, Glades, Hendry, Lee
- Approved list
- Yes
- Application fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Renewal fee
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Exam
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.
- Bond
- $5,000
- Residency
- Permanent resident of Florida (statutory requirement referenced)
- Training / CE
- Completion of a sanctioned process-server course is required.
- Renewal
- Set by the circuit's chief judge — confirm with the circuit's court administration.